How do you say goodbye?

How do you say goodbye to someone you have grown to love and appreciate over the years? Someone that has been there for you through the good and bad times? To someone that has been that sound of reason when you felt up against a wall? The answer, you don’t. Saying goodbye feels so permanent and it should never be good bye because one day, in life or in death, you will one day meet again. In this case, it will be in life a few hundred times or so before either of us cross over to the other side!

In a short time someone very near and dear to my heart will be leaving Vancouver to start a new life with her soon to be husband in Florida. In 9 years she has not only become one of my closest friends but she has been more of a sister to me. We have cried and we have laughed. We have shared just about everything there is to share (except the men in our lives of course). I have always referred to her as the sanity that balances out my insanity. There isn’t anything I wouldn’t do for her.

It is hard to see her go, I admit. Everyone says it will be ok and we can all stay in touch and of course we will. Distance will never change what she means to me, but I also have to add here that it still won’t be the same. I have to take time difference into consideration now. I can’t just pick up the phone and call. I have to remember that now she has a husband and I wouldn’t want to interrupt those quiet moments they will be having. I can’t get a hug when needed. It will be a very long while before I’ll be able to see her again. So yeah, in a sense I will be lost without her actually being here.

Over the years I have lost so many friends, for one reason or another, some because they have moved. I know I won’t lose her or the bond we have but again, it won’t be the same. Yes, I am being a bit selfish here. I think it’s ok to be selfish every now and then, don’t you? In saying this though, I am over the moon that she has found love and happiness and I wish her and her future husband only the very best life has to offer. Her happiness means the world to me, as I know it does to everyone that loves her. At times when I am alone and I’m left to my thoughts, I just wish it wasn’t so far away and that it was here.

She will forever be in my heart and will always be in my life though. No matter the distance. So if you’re reading this and you have a friend that means the world to you as she does to me, make sure you tell that person, or those people every chance you get how special they are to you and how much they mean. Tell them you love them often and share in the joys and sorrows of life. You never know what the future holds. The bonds of friendship doesn’t have to be severed because they are moving and if they mean that much to you the remember to always keep them in your heart and your life in one way or another.

So to my dear sister that is moving, to you I shall not say goodbye, but I will say see you again one day soon. I love you.

xoxo

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

