Back to school

A new school year is about to begin and I find myself thinking back about my eldest daughter’s first day. It’s so hard to believe that she is now entering grade 10 and my youngest will be going into 7th grade. Her last year of elementary school! Just seems like yesterday they were little and not even close to school age.

At least both my girls haven’t had to change schools and face the challenges of having to start over and make new friends. Both girls attended the same elementary since kindergarten and both will start/finish at the same high school. This is going to be a great year for my youngest. Now that she’s in 7th grade she will have more responsibilities at school and will be volunteering a lot of her time with various activities, as past 7th graders have before her.

Proud doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel right now. With all the difficulties both my girls have had to deal with over the years they have done very well in school. I can only hope the joy and excitement they have now for learning continues into post secondary when the time comes. Especially for my eldest. Due to what her egg donor (bio-mom) did while pregnant with her, my poor girl has had a very hard time with learning. She is mentally and educationally delayed but still tries so very hard and does amazing. I don’t think I have ever had a bad report card with her. Sure she’s a bit slow and has many learning difficulties but she is a fighter and one heck of a determined fighter at that. She never ceases to amaze me. I know she can and will succeed and her dreams of becoming a special education teacher, or even assistant, will come true. I will continue to encourage her to do her best and to never give up.  Even if that means being her voice and fighting for her rights when it comes down to post secondary education. Why should she have to quit learning after high school? She’s destined for great things. Both my girls are. I don’t worry as much for my youngest. She doesn’t have the same challenges her older sister deals with but I will do all that I can for her as well. Then again, there is nothing I wouldn’t do for either of them. She’s a smart cookie though. I think she needs a little bit of a push when it comes to getting her assignments and homework done in a timely manner but I think she too has a bright future ahead of her.

So for all of you going back to school next week. May it be some sort of training, high school, college, or university I wish you luck! May this school year be one of the best and memorable ones you have ever had. Good luck on all your subjects/courses and remember to lend a fellow student a hand when he/she is down. Bullying is always a huge issue in schools, well in life really, so stand tall and be there to help if you can. Don’t let them get away with hurting another person. Too much damage has already been done over the years and nothing can change unless we all stand together against bullies.

Be safe and if you’re driving through a school zone, please…PLEASE remember to keep to the speed limit. Little people have a habit of running out between cars when you least expect it when parents aren’t watching carefully. Lots of things could happen…so please just be mindful of your speed and keep an eye on the roads. No texting while driving and if you can help it, stay off the phone too.

Have a wonderful and safe day on your first day back to school!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to school

  1. r4n3sh says:

    My youngest son has his first day tomorrow… play group though. 🙂

  2. And so it begins right? First it’s play group, then pre-school, then kindergarten….Enjoy the excitement tomorrow! Please do let me know how it went. Would love to hear about his first day 🙂

Leave a Reply

