Part 1: “Re-homing Kids”

Today I read many different articles “shared” on FB. Some were good, others though, made me cringe.

Part 1: “Re-homing kids”

This blew my mind! I didn’t think this was even possible in America, till I read the article. You can find the article in question by clicking the link below.

http://bangordailynews.com/2013/09/09/news/nation/adopted-children-being-abandoned-by-parents-over-internet-into-abusive-nightmare-homes/

Being a mother of a child that I did not give birth to means the absolute world to me. I love her just as much as I love my own bio-daughter. I had the choice when I was filing for custody. I could let her go back into the system and hope that one day she’s in a safe and stable home, or file for her at the time I was filing for my own child. I raised her since she was 18 months old, to me she was my child regardless if I gave birth to her or not so of course naturally I filed…and won! The choice was mine though, if I didn’t want that responsibility then I would never have done it. I would never have taken her in when she was so young to begin with. To read that there are people out there that actually LEGALLY adopt children and then “re-home” them as it’s called when they don’t want them any more for whatever reason sickened me. This is so vile and so wrong on all sorts of levels. This was even done to one girl three times. How can someone take in a child and then just discard it so nonchalantly like that without so much as blinking an eye. What’s worse, there is a Facebook page where you can make these arrangements!  There is no legal proceeding of any kind. No social worker or government official involved at all. No legal actions or very little. The only reason the one guy was hauled off to prison was for…well, just read the article and you’ll know why. I can’t even bring myself to say it.

If you can’t take care of a child then for the love of the Gods don’t take one in. It’s as simple as that. I love my baby girl and there is nothing I wouldn’t do for her. Currently I’m dealing with a situation that had me to lose much sleep the other night. Her bio-father contacted me and proceeded to tell me how she needs to be back with her people and learn some of the heritage and how he wants to pass down some knowledge to her, as well as wanting access and how she needs to know him and all sorts of other things. Now I have never bad mouthed him and have always told him he made some bad choices but he was a good man that tried to be a good father. The choices he made resulted in him and his then partner losing her. I have also told my daughter that if she is wanting to know him and that side of the family all she has to do is tell me and I would do whatever I could to make it happen. My daughter has told me over and over again that she in no way wants anything to do with them. She doesn’t want to see him, she doesn’t want to know him. She wants nothing from him or that family. So am I suppose to now force my daughter to do something she clearly doesn’t want to do? I am a fair mother I think and have always let my girls make the choice to do something or not do. If it’s something I don’t like then it’s a discussion we will have but if it’s ok then I support them 100%. She doesn’t want to do it so I won’t force her to. However, I think he has other ideas on parenting than I do. I’m assuming he expects me to force her…boy is he sadly mistaken. When, and if, she is ready then we’ll cross that bridge. Right now though she’s content with her life and she doesn’t want to change that…so why should she have to because he says she has to? Of course the word “court” was in that message. At first I was freaking. Being that he is her bio-father he could win…this is where I lost sleep. I can’t bear the thought of losing my baby. Now, the fight is on so I say, Bring it. There is nothing I wouldn’t do for my girls and if that means a court battle then so be it. I will fight till I am blue in the face for her and her rights.

I know there are other parents out there that would do the same thing for their child(ren), so why is it so hard for other people to be like that? There are so many people out there that can’t even have kids. They try and try and nothing. Then you have people like this that can adopt kids overseas, bring them here, get tired of them, then give them away like their nothing. SICKENING! I seriously think the American laws about this needs to be revisited and looked at. Something more severe as a punishment should be implemented. Jail time may not be enough for these people. What do you think? Feel free to share your thoughts and opinions. I love hearing from people.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

