The Little Things In Life

Spring is such a beautiful time of year. New growth and rebirth. I love watching all the plants and trees come to life. I love to watch birds fly around gathering things to make their nests. The other day I even saw a bumble bee. A big fat and fuzzy bumble bee…I loved it! There is such a fresh scent in the air. I especially love the sweet smell of flowers and the freshly cut grass. Even the rain has a different feel to it. I can sit for hours just enjoy a nice cup of tea as the rain falls.

Earlier this year I decided to change my outlook on life and of myself. I’m doing good with that I can honestly say, I do feel stronger. Emotionally and mentally. Physically it will take some time, but I know it will happen. For now though, I think I’m going to just enjoy these little things that make me smile. It just feels good to actually smile and not have to fake it for once!

Yesterday my FB status read, “Today, take the time out to tell someone how much they mean to you. Even if it’s just a quick text to say hello. Bring a smile to someone’s face…because when they smile, you’ll smile. I love you…and you mean the world to me. I am very fortunate to have you in my life. Thank you for being the wonderful person that you are.” I had some very amazing feedback from that. I wasn’t telling just one person I loved them, I was telling all my friends that, and they knew it! It’s so true though, I know I made people smile, I could sense it and in turn, it made me smile. I’m not crazy…lol. Ok well maybe I am a bit, but the positive energies you put forward can be felt by a lot of people and it does make a difference on your own thoughts and perceptions. Don’t be afraid to tell someone how much they mean to you, don’t be afraid to just send a quick text giving cyber hugs. Most importantly, don’t forget to tell yourself how amazing you are and how much you are appreciated. Feel the words, don’t just say them. Just look into a mirror and say what comes to your mind and speak from your heart…always!

Then, the next time you’re out and about, enjoy your city! Hug a tree, stop a moment and smell the flowers. Take your shoes off and feel the grass between your toes. Don’t be afraid to roll down your car window, crank the tunes, and sing out loud to your heart’s content…and don’t worry about people looking at you. Wave at them and say hello! Wish them a good day even. Enjoy the life you have. Look for the positives and forget the negatives. Even if things aren’t going well for you and you’re struggling with stuff, make sure you remember the good things. Those little things!

I once saw a quote, “Make today better than yesterday and tomorrow better than today.” I can’t remember who wrote it but it stuck with me for a very long time. I used to live my life like that, but then things happened and my life changed big time and not for the better. I lost sight of all the things I used to love, on my own strengths, and just with positivity in general. I am going to live by that quote once more. I may not always be successful, but I will do whatever I can to bring positive changes to my life and to others. I will do whatever I can to be a positive role model for my daughters, and I will accept the things I cannot change without resorting to putting myself down because I couldn’t change it. I know not everything can be changed. Expecting that would be unrealistic!

It all starts with the little things though, so go, get out there…enjoy life and everything it has to offer! Smile along the way, and make sure you bring a smile to at least one person every day. It doesn’t have to be some big huge display, keep it small and keep it simple. You’ll be surprised how much that small gesture can bring big smiles to someone’s face!

Keep smilin’!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

